Managing Users

The Admin Console allows you to perform the following user-management functions:



Searching for Users

To search for users:

  1. Select Users>Users to open the Users screen.
  1. Enter text in the Search field. This can be all or part of a name, username, location, or Role.
  1. If desired, filter your search to a specific Organization or sub-organization using the pull-down menu.
  1. Click the Search button.

The Admin Console will display all users who match your specified criteria in the table, along with the number of matches.


Note: The Search function matches partial text. For example, entering Ste will match StephanieStephenSteven, etc.



Viewing/Editing a User

To find the user you wish to edit, you may either browse through the table of names in the Usersscreen or use the Search function, as described in Searching for Users. Once you have located the correct user, you may view or edit that user’s information by clicking their name in the Name column of the table.


Clicking a user’s name opens the Update User screen for that user with their current information displayed.


In this screen, you may either view the existing information without making any changes, or you may edit some or all of the following:

  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • Gender
  • Date of Birth
  • Organization
  • User Role
  • Group
  • Grade
  • User Name
  • Password
  • Email

When you are finished, click Submit to save your changes, close the popup, and return to the Usersscreen.

Note: If you use an external LDAP server (see Working with Groups; opens a new article), then you may still change the User NamePassword, and Email in the Edit User popup; however, this is not recommended. In this situation, be sure to change user information directly within your LDAP server.

Note: If notifications are enabled by the Administrator, then SSO Passport will automatically email a user when their password is changed.



Assigning Roles

To assign a Role to one or more user(s):

  1. If needed, create a new Role as described in Creating Roles (opens a new article).
  1. Select Users>Users to open the Users screen.
  1. Check the checkbox(es) that correspond to the user(s) for whom you want to assign the Role.
  1. Open the Selected users pull-down menu and then select the Assign Role icon (gear).

    The Edit User(s) Role popup appears.

  1. Use the User Role pull-down menu to select the Role to assign to the selected user(s).
  1. Click OK to close the popup and return to the Users screen.

The table will show the new Role for the selected user(s).



Assigning Groups

To assign one or more user(s) to one or more Group(s):

  1. If needed, create a new Group as described in Creating Groups (opens a new article).
  1. Select Users>Users to open the Users screen.
  1. Check the checkbox(es) that correspond to the user(s) for whom you want to assign the Group(s).
  1. Open the Selected users pull-down menu and then select the Assign Group icon (gear).

    The Choose Groups popup appears.

  1. If needed, use the Search field and Organization pull-down menu to locate the Group(s) to which you want to assign the selected user(s).
  1. Check the checkbox(es) next to the Group(s) to which you want to assign the selected user(s).
  1. Click OK to close the popup and return to the Users screen.

The table will show the new Group(s) for the selected user(s).



Sending Notifications

This function allows you to email login information (username and password) to any user(s) who have been added directly within the Admin Console and who not yet activated their SSO Passport account(s) by logging into the application. To do this, check the names of the user(s) to whom you wish to send the notification and then open the Selected users pull-down menu and click the Send Notification icon (envelope). The Admin Console will use the email addresses currently assigned to those user(s).



Deleting Users

To delete one or more user(s) from SSO Passport:

  1. Select Users>Users to open the Users screen.
  1. Check the checkbox(es) that correspond to the user(s) that you want to delete from SSO Passport.
  1. Open the Selected users pull-down menu and then select the Delete icon (X).
    The Confirm popup appears.
  1. Click OK to close the popup and return to the Users screen.

The selected user(s) will be deleted from SSO Passport.

CAUTION: DELETING A USER OR USERS WILL PERMANENTLY REMOVE THAT USER FROM SSO PASSPORT. THIS ACTION CANNOT BE UNDONE; IF YOU DELETE A USER IN ERROR, THEN YOU WILL NEED TO REENTER ALL OF THAT USER’S INFORMATION AND ASSIGN ROLES/GROUPS FROM SCRATCH.